Under Virginia law, reckless driving may be considered either a misdemeanor or felony offense. In most cases, it will stay on a driver’s DMV record for 11 years. The one exception is a reckless driving offense involving a person going 20 miles per hour or more above a posted speed limit, which stays on a person’s DMV record for five years.
There are many different reasons why a person may be cited for reckless driving in the state. For instance, if a person is driving in excess of 80 miles per hour or too fast for road conditions, he or she may be charged with reckless driving. The same may be true of anyone who decides to pass an emergency vehicle or a school bus. Passing at the crest of a hill or at a railroad crossing may also be considered reckless in the state of Virginia.
Driving with faulty brakes or with an obstructed view are considered reckless actions by the state. Furthermore, a driver may be charged with reckless driving if he or she is racing or fails to use a proper signal. Finally, any action considered to be generally reckless in nature may result in a driver being cited with a six-point violation.
Those who are cited or charged for traffic violations such as reckless driving or speeding may wish to talk with an attorney. An attorney may be able to help obtain a plea deal or an acquittal. This may result in a driver avoiding penalties such as a fine or points on his or her license. An attorney may be able to obtain a favorable result for a driver by casting doubt about the accuracy of a radar gun or other tools used to collect evidence.